EPisodeWorld Logo
Welcome Visitor.
[ Login ]  [ Register ]


2013- Still Running
News | DVDs | Images

Show Summary
Fans of the iconic Prisoner series which pushed boundaries over three decades ago and still today boasts a loyal following worldwide, will remember Bea Smith as gutsy and fearless, ruling Wentworth Correctional Centre with an iron fist.

But who was Bea Smith before prison? How did a wife and mother from the suburbs become a top dog without rival?

Wentworth is a dynamic, often confronting, drama series that begins with Bea’s early days in prison. Set in the present day, it is a modern adaptation of Prisoner contemporising legendary characters and their stories for today’s audience. This ten-part series takes the viewer inside to an uncompromising environment exploring the politics of women in a world without men, and how such a threatening experience both challenges and often changes those confined and working behind the razor wire.

Premiered on Network:
SoHo in AU

Currently airs on: Tuesdays

Genres: Crime

Language: english  Runtime: 60 mins

Official Website / IMDB-Link

No news entries yet

Guide available in: english
Choose Season: 1 | 2 | 3 | All Seasons
1x01 - No Place Like Home:
Bea Smith begins her life as a remand prisoner in Wentworth after being charged with attempted murder of her husband. She is immediately caught up in a battle between Governor Meg Jackson and rising Top Dog, Franky Doyle. Siding with Franky unleashes Meg’s retribution as she releases the reigning Top Dog, Jacs Holt, back into the compound to pull Franky back into line. But a confrontation between the two vying crews results in a bloody riot and a fatal stabbing. It is Bea who is left with blood  [...] (More)
1x02 - Fly Me Away:
A grief stricken Will is obsessed with finding his wife’s killer and blackmails Doreen into helping him, threatening the removal of Kaiya. When he discovers Meg’s bracelet is missing, the resulting (ramp) dog search traumatises Kaiya and Doreen comes to the unselfish conclusion that the little girl is better off living on the outside. Struggling without any contact with her daughter, Bea has a visit from her husband Harry, who wants to ensure not only are they sticking with their lie but to warn  [...] (More)
1x03 - The Girl Who Waited:
Franky is confronted with a visit from her father who abandoned her as a young child. He wants to offer Franky a life on the outside when she is released but after a momentary connection. Franky is torn, she wants her father but banishes him from her life. Bea gets Jacs offside and when Franky intervenes, Jacs is looking for payback. After a tearful reunion with her daughter Debbie, Bea is put in the position of owing Jacs a favour and is manipulated into being part of Franky’s painful demonstration  [...] (More)
1x04 - The Things We Do:
Franky teaches Bea a lesson in loyalty leaving her vulnerable to Jacs. When a child used to smuggle drugs into the prison overdoses, the women assume Jacs is responsible but are too afraid to punish her for breaking the prison code. Liz is charged with the responsibility of organising a VIP event for Governor Erica Davidson but when long buried memories from her past resurface, Liz seeks courage in an old addiction and the event is a disaster. It is only Franky who saves the day with a speech that  [...] (More)
1x05 - The Velvet Curtain:
Unsettled by an erotic dream about Franky, Erica tries to avoid Franky but they are thrown together when Channing decides to use Franky as the poster girl for prison reform. Erica is forced to tutor Franky but their close proximity and Franky’s provocation leave her hot and bothered. Erica’s sexual frustration at work illuminates the problems in her relationship with her fiancé, Mark. Erica has to cope with a darker side of herself forcing her to make a difficult choice. Stripped of her peer worker  [...] (More)
1x06 - Captive:
Vera’s attempt to make herself over to impress Fletch backfires when he confronts her about flirting with him when she has a boyfriend. When Vera defies her controlling mother to go out with some officers after work, her mother punishes her by turning up to work to publicly shame Vera and expose the truth about her relationship with her fantasy boyfriend. Toni is released from the wet cell and estranged from the H2 women, she is targeted by Jacs who forces her to lie to the Governor that it was  [...] (More)
1x07 - Something Dies:
With Franky in the slot, Jacs is ruling the prison and the women are living in fear. When word gets out that Franky is to be released back into the compound, Jacs plans a brutal attack. Bea challenges Jacs and pays a high price. Jacs attacks Bea to safeguard her silence, but when Franky is released from the slot, Jacs’ plans take an unexpected turn. Will discovers something about Meg that sends him on a downward spiral, reigniting his drug addiction and pushes him dangerously close to the edge.
1x08 - Mind Games:
The officers and women are on edge, aware of Jacs’ downward swing in popularity, while Bea’s is on the rise. They are waiting for the next round of reprisals. To Liz’s disgust, Franky continues to push Bea to confront Jacs while Jacs scrambles to claw back ground by blackmailing Will and revealing Vera as responsible for the riot where Meg was killed. When Vinnie informs Jacs he is divorcing her and faced with a fiercer side of Bea, Jacs realises she has to make a final move to break Bea and forces  [...] (More)
1x09 - To The Moon:
Fletch reacts badly to Bea’s grief, not only unsympathetic, but it triggers memories of a horrific experience in East Timor. Using Vera as a distraction, he ends up humiliating her when their first sexual encounter ends disastrously. He finds an ally in Channing and when he explains his actions to Vera, she agrees to think about starting over. Bea is grief stricken over the death of her daughter and just when she starts coming to terms with it, is dealt a further blow by being refused to attend  [...] (More)
1x10 - Checkmate:
Bea discovers the link between Debbie’s secret boyfriend and Jacs and immediately believes Jacs was behind her daughter’s death. She is counselled by Liz to handle things the right way and convinces Erica to talk to the police. Fletch makes amends to Vera and they grow closer, finally making love. But when Vera discovers Fletch’s journal and believes he killed Meg, he rejects her. Faced with the police’s conclusion Debbie death was a tragic overdose, Bea finally accepts responsibility for her own  [...] (More)
Choose Season: 1 | 2 | 3 | All Seasons
General Info:
Click on the episode names to get more information about them.
[ Submit Episode ]
Guide available in: english